You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
pedrovWOW

Thoughts after my first 1000 games

2 comments in this topic

Members
30 posts
3,539 battles

I'm not sure how long I've been playing, but maybe 2 months or so. I've logged over 1000 battles, but most on Co-op. I'm sharing my thoughts for those who are starting the game. Very long post, so please beware.

It's probably best to start with what this opening post is not.

1.) It is not advice for how to play PvP, though I'll have a few things to say about that where appropriate. Playing against people is a very different issue and there are metas that dominate different levels of play, and that evolve over time.

2.) This is not a post for advanced players. I'm only up to T5 ships and I'm still learning even in Co-op battles.

3.) It is not a post by a wallet warrior. As I do with most free games, I buy a little bit of currency to reward the developers for creating a game I play a lot. Those doubloons have come in handy when reassigning captain skills or purchasing new ports. I think I spent 15 dollars over a month ago and haven't come close to spending it all.

And 4.) I'm not a teen living in my mom's basement. I have a family, a mortgage, a lawn to mow, and all the joys that go with being a gainfully employed member of society. For the purposes of this post, letting you know this means I'm more concerned with practical advice that I wish I had in one place, rather than reading through 30-page posts that might contain some small bits of helpful information. Now on to the info.