You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Jackbear1

How to address the bot issue.... effectively

34 comments in this topic

[KIA-A]
Members
796 posts
16,394 battles

This is an issue WG has struggled with since I started playing this game in Beta.  Their approach has not been effective.  Here is a simple solution:

When an account has received enough in game "Bot" reports or suspect replays submitted via support tickets, the account is placed on a watch list for the game managers.  When the account is logged on and in battle (so you know the "player" should be on) a game manager starts a conversation with the "player."  When the "player" returns to port the screen is locked on the conversation so the "player can't start another battle until the conversation is cleared by the game manager.  If the game manager does not receive "proof of life" like a several line conversation about favorite ship or something other than "hello" or "hi" within a reasonable amount of time the account is banned until the owner explains to War Gaming why they are using a bot program.    

• Cool 1

[HINON]
Alpha Tester
27,723 posts
26,569 battles

I was never a fan of intrusive anti-anything measures.

Beta Testers
1,180 posts
7,853 battles

I get the feeling than some non-bots would be banned by this....

That would probably be ok. If the person doesn't know enough to respond to an in-game chat then they probably shouldn't be playing anyway.

[KIA-A]
Members
796 posts
16,394 battles

Too much room for error with this method.

How is there room for error?  A human being would be making a decision to place a ban on an account.  It would only be automated up to the watchlist.  An active player with poor stats who was reported would be able to just respond to the convo and the GM would clear the account.  
  • Cool 1

[KIA-A]
Members
796 posts
16,394 battles

I was never a fan of intrusive anti-anything measures.