You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Bulachevsk

German Cruisers Review and How to Play Them

82 comments in this topic

[CNF]
Members
34 posts
4,675 battles

I've been playing Wows since October 2015 and since around November I'm absolutely in love for the german ships (cruisers and battleships). Now that I finally got my Hindenburg the fun in the game is focused in upgrading my Roon captain to the Großadmiral rank (19 point captain). In the mean time I found interesting to share with the community my thoughts on what I consider the best line in the game: The germans.

First things you should know before starting your grind the the great Hindenburg is that the germans are very unique in its ship characteristics. Your main strenght relies in your artillery, without a good artillery and aim these cruisers become utterly useless. Your AP rounds are the strongest in the entire game and, even though low tier has better results with HE, you need to know how they work because, starting on tier five, you will probably forget your HE (It's a trap, don't do it). However the main weakness of these ships is in their armor. German armor is among the worst in the game and the basic with german cruisers (along with knowing AP usage) is ship angling, without it you won't be simply useless, you will be demolished from the surface. With that being said I think it's time for me to review the individual ships (yeah, this was the intro, so be ready for some huge texts).

The Hermelin, Dresden and Kolberg won't be reviewed by the simple fact that they are all just HE spammers, a lot of guns and are placed in a tier where strategy is often forgotten in battles. If any kind soul wants to write them down below, feel free