Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
PESC_TWZ

Kuma - HE vs AP

10 comments in this topic

[-AH-]
Members
25 posts
3,575 battles

First off I'm a noob and have enjoyed learning the game while looking forward to becoming a better player.  One of the hulls I play at the moment is the Kuma.  Usually I've been flinging as many HE shells as possible and have gotten to where I can usually get 1000 or more points in a match.  In wanting to improve my skills I watched a lot of videos, one of them being IChase's one on how to hit Citadels more often.  It was very informative so I thought I'd give it a try.

I played one match using the Kuma and fired all HE and ended up with about 1600 points on 18 hits or so if I recall correctly.

I then played another match using the Kuma and fired all AP and ended up with 88 points (not a typo) on 24 hits.  I got 0 citadels even though it looked like a lot of the shells were in the sweet spot.

I must be missing something and am looking for advice or help in understanding what is the difference.  Thanks to all of you who post helpful things, I appreciated it.

Members
11,964 posts
6,273 battles

Unless its an Omaha, Murmansk, Marblehead, Kuma, or Tenryu, the 140s won't really pen with AP much

[-AH-]
Members
25 posts
3,575 battles

Unless its an Omaha, Murmansk, Marblehead, Kuma, or Tenryu, the 140s won't really pen with AP much

Thanks for the prompt replies.  I was trying to sink BB's specifically but didn't realize some AP won't penetrate some hulls.  That's an ez adjustment.  Thanks.

Alpha Tester
3,710 posts
1,392 battles

HE at everything other than:

Other t4 cruisers at close to medium range showing you their side

tenryu at close to medium range showing you its side (do not fire AP at st louises)

t5 cruisers showing you their side at CLOSE range (~5km)