You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
palestreamer

Farragut, Pensacola or Dallas?

23 comments in this topic

[MI-BR]
Members
51 posts

I am a newbie player grinding my way up the US line to Tier VI, and I have enough to buy and fully upgrade a Farragut, a Pensacola, or a Dallas. Which would you suggest? I already have the New Mexico, and play Random and Ranked. Is there a noticeable difference between the two US cruiser lines? Thx!

[GGWP]
Members
7,631 posts
18,281 battles

What have you like playing so far? If you enjoyed cruiser or dds more than the other, then go that way. 

[WAP]
Beta Testers
347 posts

It looks like you're mostly a co-op player in which case I would recommend the Farragut first. Both US cruiser lines are good, but without torps I find them to be less effective in that mode.  Second I would probably get the Pensacola for the guns, and more forgiving environment.  I personally love the Dallas, but less so for co-op.

[WOLFG]
Members
250 posts
4,409 battles

Of 3 three that you just listed, Pensacola would be at the bottom of the list for me. She has many great qualities including 25 mm bow and 10 203 mm guns at tier 6 with improved auto bounce angles but but the thing that really lets her down is her turret traverse which is unacceptable no matter how many upgrades and captain skills you invest into it. That combined with with her massive citadel means that she can be quite uncomfortable to play, even more so if you are a new player such as yourself. This means that you often can't fire back because your trying to maneuver and dodge shells. Dallas by comparison is much easier ship ship to play with her small citadel making landing citadel hits on her a lot harder.