You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Canadian_Reaper

Soo how do I use SAP?

28 comments in this topic

Beta Testers
349 posts
6,277 battles

Was lucky enough to get the Lepanto in a drop, and took it out for my first game

I've never used SAP before, and the game was pretty much a disaster (spawned on a side where our DD hid and the CA committed suicide, spent the next 8 minutes running to the other side of the map)

DIdn't really play well this game, (this isn't one of those "I tried to carrt but the team was so bad.." stories)  but..I did guess where the enemy Minotaur was going to appear. Sure enough the Mino pope out behind an island near broadside at like 4KM, I had all guns loaded with SAP, fired..

ANd I had 7 shots bounce and 2 pen. 

This was on a nearly broadside Mino, he was angled a bit, but nothing remotely extreme, If I'd had my Roma and AP loaded, I've have dev struck it. (barring poor RNG of course)

Never used SAP before, I had thought it was super punchy vs cruisers,  but now I'm curious..is it really just for superstructure or angled ships? IE I shouldn't try to pen cruiser citadels with it?

I'm pretty sure my jaw dropped when I saw 7 ricochets on the Mino..

Thanks!

SuperTest Coordinator, Beta Testers
6,816 posts
12,662 battles

SAP cannot penetrate a Minotaur's citadel. It is designed to punch through upper belt, superstructure, bow and stern. Basically, reverse AP on most cruisers.

Edited by Compassghost
  • Cool 3
  • Thanks 1

[HINON]
Alpha Tester
25,214 posts
21,066 battles

Aim SAP at areas with moderate armor, not thick armor. Upper belts, hull extremities, superstructures ... SAP has limited pen, but doesn't lose pen over distance.

• Cool 2
  • Thanks 1

[GOOF]
Members
818 posts
6,827 battles

The Italians had a rather large and heavy AP round, not only did it overpen light armor areas but it had alot of wear on the rifles.