You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
partridge_in_a_pear_tree

Is it just me or has the rework diminished Battleship impact?

29 comments in this topic

Members
19 posts
4,804 battles

Hi!

I'm new to the forums. I've been playing on and off for 3 years or so. Only recently have I gotten fairly good at the game. I'm a battleship main, although I dabble in heavy cruisers and destroyers. Never light cruisers or aircraft carriers. Bleck.

Anyway, so far the rework for me has been... polarizing. It's not terrible, and for cruisers and destroyers, I actually quite like the changes. For battleships, though I feel that Deadeye has had some pretty detrimental effects to the entire class. While on paper it's a buff, it encourages poor play to the extent that battleships, I feel, have minimal impact on the game now.

Here's why I feel this is happening. Most battleships default to spending the first critical few minutes of the game playing passively. Then, 3-8 minutes in, a critical point is reached. At this point, the team that is dug in better starts to push. At this point the game is already over. What I mean is that while battleships hang out on the back line, cruisers and destroyers are dictating the outcome of the match. The battleships might throw up some big damage numbers, but by the time they are in position to impact the match, the victor has already been decided.

Now, some stats:

I consider myself a decent player, but it wasn't always this way. I started playing when I was just 14 so obviously I didn't have a grasp of much other than kill the enemy more often than they kill you. Now that I am older, I believe I play the game at a somewhat higher level.

My overall winrate is about 52.65% and rising fast. It's been about a week and a half since the rework hit. My 21 day average win rate is just under 60%, though it's falling quickly now. My 7 day win rate? Just under 53%.