You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
CaptainKevlar

WOW questions from a new(er) player......

45 comments in this topic

[RADVS]
Members
112 posts
9,925 battles

All:

I am a rookie for sure (with approx. 3k battles), and a not so great WR. I began playing to spend some more time with my son, and have really, really enjoyed it. I am older (but not a fossil) and I had some questions I am not completely sure how to ask (please don't flame me too badly):

- I have been the brunt of some bad discourse in chats, and have certainly made some mistakes in many contested matches - especially when I started playing. I have watched some really helpful videos and like to think I am getting better - should new(er) players stay away from PVP matches until they are a certain skill level? (to avoid salt, or negatively impacting other players stats)?

- How would you know when you have reached that skill level? (seems I still make mistakes, even though I understand my chosen ships weaknesses much better). 

- Is it okay to learn while playing PVP? Would it be more acceptable learning and experimenting in the lower tiers?

I enjoy PVP more than anything else because it is far more challenging, but I really don't want to do so at someone else's expense. I hope that makes sense. 

Thanks in advance,

kev

• Cool 4

[HINON]
Alpha Tester
27,724 posts
26,569 battles

It's entirely ok to learn while playing PVP. Those people yeeting salt at you are just idiots and aftholes, don't pay them mind. Everyone's welcome to play this game, that's at once its greatest strength and its greatest weakness. What matters is where you have fun. The fact that you think about these things tells me you're serious enough about doing your best and learning. The only person you should be better than is you from a week ago, that's what matters.

• Cool 11

[WOLF9]
Wiki Lead, Privateers
18,986 posts
5,224 battles
  1. Depends on how much salt you are willing to accept.