You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
RagingxMarmoset

Haven’t built a PC since 2001 - critique my parts picks

11 comments in this topic

[BNKR]
Members
1,653 posts
2,811 battles

I’m putting together a budget gaming machine and I thought you folks might have some insight as to whether or not I’m about to make a huge mistake. Here’s the stuff:

- MSI X570 AMD board

- Ryzen 5 3600X

- Radeon 5600 XT 6GB

- 32GB Corsair Vengeance memory (already purchased on smokin Black Friday deal)

- 700W thermaltake PSU

- Thermaltake mid-tower ATX case

I play primarily botes, but I’d like to branch out into some other stuff, as well as having room to grow. Am I on the right track here?

• Cool 2

[BE-ER]
Beta Testers
109 posts
15,684 battles

I'm no expert, but that looks pretty solid to me. I'm in basically the same situation (mostly play wows, but a few other games that my current machine is struggling with, mostly Squad). I'm taking a slightly different route and am leaning toward an Intel build.

AS ROCK B460 phantom board

Intel i5 10400

GeForce rtx 2060

16GB gskill aegis RAM

Roseville Nautilus mid-tower case (comes with 3 fans pre-installed, and was on sale for $40)

1tb m.2 hard drive

Goal is to get good performance that will last several years (currently on year 6 with my current machine) while keeping prices down as much as I can.

[SWOLF]
Beta Testers
804 posts
8,086 battles

your on the right track, but i would suggest making sure you get a SSD rather then a HDD, even if you have to get a lower capacity one. it makes an extream amount of difference in load times that it is 1000% worth the slightly increased cost.

i personally would swap the 5600XT for a 5700XT as the extra 50-100$ gives you more future proofing by getting 8GB of VRAM memory, and a higher out of the box auto overclock.