You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Ensign_Cthulhu

Farragut: Bot-Bashing Basics.

14 comments in this topic

[ARGSY]
Members
21,562 posts
15,643 battles

I ground past the Farragut a long time ago, and consequently her "good" captain moved up. So all I've got in her is a three-pointer to take her out for snowflakes and similar, and that's how she set sail in this bot-blasting, damage-farming extravaganza.

I made this vid to illustrate a particular point. Too often when I was a newbie, I'd grit my teeth in frustration at unicum how-to demonstrations because they used captains with healthy lashings of skill points I could never have dreamed of having. I would ask myself "How much of this is his skill and how much is his tools?" Well, here you see a commander who doesn't have many tools but a player who's got a whole lot more experience than he had when he actually ground this ship and who makes the bots pay for it accordingly. Maybe it might have been more true to life if I'd bought back and fitted the stock modules, so it's just like a new player would find the Farragut when they first took it out? Anyway, with that disclaimer out of the way, enjoy the fun.

• Cool 2

[RCNW6]
Members
124 posts
3,449 battles

Interesting video, I like the way you played that using your smoke screen. Although you did cut those torpedoes a bit close to that team mates bow, I'm betting you gave him/her a bit of a scare! 

Thanks for sharing!

[ARGSY]
Members
21,562 posts
15,643 battles
7 minutes ago, WaywardVariable said:

Although you did cut those torpedoes a bit close to that team mates bow,

Yeah, I admitted as much in the vid and advised others not to try it.

The problem usually occurs when the ally cuts to the other side of the enemy ship, then the bot steps on the brakes (or somebody sinks it) and the torps that should have hit it sail on past its nose. Then it's a guaranteed trip to pinkville.

Edited by Ensign_Cthulhu

[RCNW6]
Members
124 posts