You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Jet_set117

Bring Back the old CV playstyle

69 comments in this topic

[JSRF]
Members
169 posts
6,472 battles

This new gameplay for CV is disgusting. I'm an actual pilot and learning to fly a plane is easier than whatever this new gameplay is.  Not only is it incredibly disorienting but it lacks control input.  AA has become so OP with squadron health that it doesn't matter.  I used to average 150k dmg games with the old style and now I find it a struggle to make 50k dmg.  This is a major issue for me as a player,  I can't speak for everyone else but I had deleted the game due to what WG called the CV update which changed the style but it makes CV play boring.  In real life AA on a ship was very inaccurate even with computing due to the way the sea constantly moves the ship, CV's provided a ton of fighter cover for their fleet, and with basically no real use of fighters its pointless to have the first squadron be fighters armed with rockets.  Japan never equipped zeros with rockets so it makes their gameplay unrealistic.  What adds to the immersion break is having the British CVs only doing one strike at a time with only one plane.  Now if I was able to attack in quick succession then maybe I can see the point but it feels so damn slow and by the time I'm done with the strike I've lost a few planes already.  When it was RTS style gameplay CVs did what they did in real life tipping the scales of battle.  CVs back then decided on how the battle would go based on skill.  You can't blame lack of skill on CVs to change the style.  Even with AA as it was it was super strong and hard to fight high tier cruiser with high AA builds.  I can't see this new style being all that effective.  This makes CV less of a artillery type gameplay like in WoT and more like a bunch of rats running into traps and you have to hope you have more rats than they have traps.  I've faced really good CV players that made the game fu