You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
oline63

Good at coop, suck at random, getting bored. Advice?

37 comments in this topic

[META_]
Members
6 posts
6,386 battles

I'm pretty new to the game, played by myself and only have a couple thousand battles, pretty much stuck on tier 5/6 (plenty of xp, just don't think I'm good enough to graduate, so to speak).  I'm usually top 3 on co-op, but regularly get my butt kicked on random.  Learning by sinking is useful, but so very slow...I keep thinking about joining a clan, but don't know if I play well enough yet.  I've watched the video tutorials, but didn't get much out of them (really supposed to memorize all the other ship's various armor, location of citadels, etc?).

Any advice from some of you old salts?  

• Cool 1

[S-N-D]
Banned
3,327 posts
7,738 battles

Practice in random's. It is the only way. No one can teach you when to zig or zag nor how to read a map. It comes in time and sometimes no matter how good you play you'll still lose. One thing is for sure though, you will never get better in random's by playing coop.

I suppose one solid piece of advice I can give is select a ship you like and play it to the exclusion of others until it becomes second nature. Then move on to the next.

Edited by _Caliph_
  • Cool 1
  • Thanks 1

[WORX]
Members
13,307 posts
20,159 battles
14 minutes ago, oline63 said:

I'm pretty new to the game, played by myself and only have a couple thousand battles, pretty much stuck on tier 5/6 (plenty of xp, just don't think I'm good enough to graduate, so to speak).  I'm usually top 3 on co-op, but regularly get my butt kicked on random.  Learning by sinking is useful, but so very slow...I keep thinking about joining a clan, but don't know if I play well enough yet.  I've watched the video tutorials, but didn't get much out of them (really supposed to memorize all the other ship's various armor, location of citadels, etc?).

Hi, Welcome to WOWS.