You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Stungray

Why is the WoWs community getting more toxic?

121 comments in this topic

[LG_X]
Members
3 posts
1,704 battles

I know people complain about the game all the time, but I'm genuinely curious if other people have observed things getting worse too, and if so, how to fix it. I have been gaming for over 20 years and have never come across a community so down right mean. It's a shame, I used to really enjoy the game, I've always loved naval and World War II history - in many ways the game is something I could only have dreamt of as a kid. But in the last few months, things seem to have taken a turn for the worse. I can hardly play a single round without people bashing - really going on and on and ruining everything for their teams and each other, whether we're winning or losing. If I'm playing badly, people act like I shivved their grandmother. If I'm playing well, it's the same thing. I'm not going to claim to be a great player, but I do my best to support my team and I always try to lighten the mood in chat. In the past week alone, I have played probably less than 10 rounds, and yet I have been mobbed by several members of my team three times. Twice we won, and both times I was in the upper half of the team... and even several of the losses would have been fun if not for the collective attitude. In the last few months, I have had bullies from in game chat me nasty messages days after the match... DAYS! What kind of bully is so motivated to go after random strangers they played one round of WoWs with? And then there's my clan. Most of them are generally a nice bunch of guys but some of them have gradually been becoming a bunch of condescending jerks... I've noticed that many of the supposedly "friendlier" players in the game are that way a lot, giving advice and passing judgement when it's not asked for.