You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Soshi_Sone

Soshi's take on Callifornia

13 comments in this topic

[CNO]
[CNO]
Members
5,890 posts
17,938 battles

California is a great ship.  I'm really enjoying her.  

Now, I'm not sure if this is simply because I've had to change my play style (to one I don't play often) and the style itself has become fun (or I'm better at it than I thought).  Perhaps a bit of both.

The following is about her value in Random battles. I’m not experienced enough with Ranked or Clan battles to pass judgement.  But I respect the assessment of others experienced in the competitive field that California won’t do well there.  All I can give is my Random (no pun intended) assessment.

This is a great ship for Randoms.  But unlike some of the assessments I’ve seen, making her work requires a lot of experience.  Yes, she can be played casually...and I'm a casual player in general...but I also play to win, so I'm a serious casual player.   Casual should not be confused with inexperienced.  Making her work at tier and above, experience is needed.   Not unicum level experience, but a "good" bit of WOWS experience in general, and specific experience in BBs up to T9.  Here's a list of things one should be comfortable with in order to play her well:

1. Aim well at long range, because a lot of her worth is...well...long range strikes. 

2. Strategic positioning.  Because she is very slow; a mistake can take you out of the game for too long or just make you less effective. 

3.  Turret positioning.  Turrets are SLOW (even with EL buffs).  If your best target is on the opposite side...not good.

4.  Knowing the threats…T5 to T9!  Especially T7-T9.  You can often bully your way through T5/6 mistakes.  Price is paid above that.

5.  Understanding asymmetric advantages and disadvantages.