You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
LunchCutter

Playing CV is the most frustrating experience I've had in this game

62 comments in this topic

Members
781 posts
2,764 battles

I started playing the Japanese CV line a few years ago but only ever had a dozen or so games before losing interest. Started playing again the other month with the Ryūjō and although its a competent carrier it is without doubt the most frustrating class I've ever played.

It's just a feeling of been helpless as you watch your teammates do stupid stuff (cruisers trying to engage BB's at medium range side on ect) or DD's rushing a cap unsupported where they are outnumbered 3-1. No one seems to take notice of my spotting. I can scout and do attack runs (that don't really do much damage unless RNG smiles on me). It's just a mix of frustration and annoyance as I watch my team melt or throw away a easy victory by doing something illogical or ridiculous.. 

Also the Ryūjō really doesn't pack much punch against light and medium targets. The last game I was the sole survivor on my team against a Pensacola who was 90% dead and chasing me, not a single one of my full strength squadrons could get near him, rocket, bomber or torps, as he shredded wave after wave (not sure how, my Pepsi never seems that effective against planes) ended up losing the game as they had 2 caps and I could not scratch the dam cruiser. My sub 35% CV WR continues to fall.. :P

Also the planes have become incredibly hard to aim, rocket planes often miss stationary DD's, torp bombers cannot get anywhere near cruisers for a hit unless the captain is asleep and bombers constantly miss sitting ducks even when the bombsight is perfectly lined up, extremely rare to get 2 bombs on a target, even rarer to citadel it. 

So for all the CV hate these things generate, they certainly come at a price in frustration for the guy trying to operate them. 

• Cool 10
  • Haha 5
  • Boring 1
  • Meh 14

[TBW]
Members