You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
uberuberkid40

Baltimore Playstyle

2 comments in this topic

Members
9 posts
2,082 battles

I recently started playing WoWs again after a year long hiatus. Noticed that I had enough experience to get the Baltimore, my second T8 ship.

I am not a good player by any means. My WR is 49% and gets as low as 13% on ships like the New Orleans. I've been doing really average in the Baltimore, averaging about 30k damage per battle with about a 50% WR. To me this seems ludicrously low at T8 although officially it seems to be the average for the entire playerbase in this ship. 

I've watched several guides on how to play this ship. Friendship ended with kiting, now islands are my new best friend. Doesn't seem to work; I sit around defending an island, scoring the occasional citadel on careless cruisers, popping radars at marauding destroyers, but sooner or later a battleship rounds the corner and shoots me up with secondary battery fire. It's worse when you play against CVs; if a carrier gets past your admittedly impressive AA while you're hugging an island corner, they can crapon you with rockets, AP bombs, etc, and you're just a stationary target. If you move, the moment you clear the corner your detection meter goes off and the little number ticks from one up to four and you know it's only a matter of time before you get deleted.

I'm also bad at positioning. Half the time it seems like I sit too far back and consequently when the flank breaks through I'm not in a position to move up and support my team. The other half of the time the flank collapses around me and I get bumrushed by a battleship.