Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
zubalkabir

Overmatching question

15 comments in this topic

[DOG]
Members
1,220 posts
12,663 battles

Okay, so Wiki says overmatching is calculated by dividing the gun's caliber by 14.3.  This determines the size gun you need in order to ignore any angling by the target ship.  Logically, it seems like range should be a factor, but that doesn't seem to enter into it, either by what I've experienced in 9k+ battles, or in any documentation I've found.  I'm not a ballistics expert or physicist, and I ain't got no fancy G.E.D., but it seems to me that a 15" shell would have more punch at 4km than at 18km, and that should be factored in.  Or do I completely misunderstand how armor penetration should work?

[WORX]
Members
11,966 posts
19,495 battles

Weight of the shell is factored in... For example... The QE has the biggest guns in her tier, but it also has the lightest shells in her tier..

Its one of the reason, the QE is not known aa long range threat. 

Since the game is an arcade and not a sim.. BB have/enjoy unrealistic ballistics. In A real life scenario, BB shells never sank a ship unless they struck an ammo storage space.

If you you really wanted to sink a ship, you send torps and create holes below the water line.

• Confused 1

[ARS]
Beta Testers
5,319 posts
5,803 battles
6 minutes ago, Navalpride33 said:

Since the game is an arcade and not a sim.. BB have/enjoy unrealistic ballistics. In A real life scenario, BB shells never sank a ship unless they struck an ammo storage space.

1) All ships have unrealistic ballistics in WoWS.  BBs are not singled out for special treatment.

2) BBs sank numerous ships.

• Cool 1

[WORX]
Members
11,966 posts
19,495 battles
4 minutes ago, Helstrem said:

1) All ships have unrealistic ballistics in WoWS.  BBs are not singled out for special treatment.

2) BBs sank numerous ships.