You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Feldo357

Coal Ship Conundrum - 9.1 - advice/thoughts?

26 comments in this topic

[G-B-U]
Members
83 posts
6,450 battles

I have been playing for about 9 months now (casual player with a fair amount of free time)

I play mostly Cruisers and DDs (mostly USN, otherwise equal opportunity on flag), with a side of USN BBs

I enjoy the operations (except that which shall not be named) and co-op play mostly, with only occasional 5-7 tier random battles

My clan does not do clan battles (or hasn't for some time anyway), and I haven't really done much with ranked lacking higher tier ships

My first coal ship was the Jean Bart cause I saw a Jingles video, and I already have the Aigle from a Santa crate and St Louis from a supercontainer

I have been saving my very limited steel for a Flint or Black, but now I am going to wait for them to come back next fall as coal ships.

I am up to just over 200K in coal as of last night and do still have my coupon

I do have Russian ships, I am currently grinding in Budyonny, not really up to speed on coming Euro Destroyers/Blyskawica, or high tier BB play

Am I going to kick myself for not getting the Smolensk while it was available?  I don't know much about the ship, have never (maybe in co-op) faced it in battle, and will probably never be good enough, or have enough time to learn it properly for pvp play.  That said, I could always use it to farm up some commander xp and for lighting fires for directives.  Do I bite the bullet and put off my Salem (grandfather served on the Salem and Des Moines) for another while as it seems safe as a coal ship, until I can earn more coal?

• Cool 1

[CO-OP]
Members
1,838 posts
26,559 battles

To be honest in COOP you'd be better off with Thunderer, just my opinion mind you I'm sure others will chime in with theirs.

Edited by Efros

[ARGSY]
Members
10,326 posts
16,093 battles