You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
LGCaptain

Tips for a new CV player

8 comments in this topic

[USN]
Members
19 posts
274 battles

I just recently started playing CVs.  I'm pretty new to the game, as well.  I currently have the Langley, and find that I barely get any damage at all during matches.  Is there anything that you struggled with at first, that you have advice on how to conquer?  Thanks in advance.

[TF_64]
Members
11 posts
5,606 battles

Advance your Skipper's skills and learn how to lead your targets with the type aircraft you are flying at the time. generally start the game using attack aircraft and switch to torps after you have identified a suitable target. remember to assist teammates and to announce targets that they need to be aware of.  As a CV Skipper you have a view of the entire battle not just the immediate threat. Also learn how to use bombers.  Start your Torpedo runs approx 5 km and release at the last second. it will show seconds in the sighting track.

Edited by onegr8pony

[HINON]
Members
11,614 posts

Keep practicing and dont give up. It takes a while to even get the basic mechanics down pat as cvs are different. Never give up, never surrender.

Members
999 posts
5,794 battles

All CV's struggle to deal "alpha strike" damage since the CV-rework.

Instead of sinking a healthy ship with one salvo, a CV needs to hit a ship multiple times over the course of multiple strike sorties of aircraft.

Torpedoes are good for causing damage and flooding on large ships (BB's, CV's and Cruisers), and will cripple or sink a destroyer that has lost a portion of its' health (provided you can actually hit a DD with a torpedo, it is a challenge).
Bombs are HE type, so they're similar to HE projectiles.
Rockets are useful against DD's and soft-skinned targets, and may annoy or start a fire on any target.

All ordnance needs to be aimed properly and the "drop" needs to be timed so that it hits the target.