Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
reza577

Whats the difference between 2 lines of DDs in each nation?

12 comments in this topic

[-N-]
Beta Testers
270 posts
7,014 battles

Hi

I been trying to figure out whats the difference between the USSR and JAPANs two different DD lines.

and from the numbers, i cant tell what the difference is.

can someone explain the difference between the left and right lines of DDs?

ty

Alpha Tester
2,409 posts
8,275 battles

Im no expert but I believe its basically a generic DD line (Japan - Shima, USSR - Groz) vs more of a gunboat line (Japan - Harugumo, USSR - Khab). 

• Cool 1

[PQUOD]
[PQUOD]
Members
5,200 posts
20,409 battles

The Japanese line splits and focuses on either being a torpedo themed boat the other a gun themed boat. The T10 Shimikaze is probably the best regular tech tree torpedo boat in the game. The Haragumo is one of the better gun boat DD's in the game.

[SYN]
Members
8,256 posts
14,118 battles

IJN- Mainline is torpedo boats, the split becomes more of a gunboat line at t8 (the t6/7 are still torpedo boats)

VMF- Mainline are run and gun DDs with poor concealment but good speed and guns, the split are DDs that are more balanced, often still gunboats but also with workable torps and concealment. 

Members
12,624 posts
14,320 battles
28 minutes ago, Capt_Ahab1776 said:

The Japanese line splits and focuses on either being a torpedo themed boat the other a gun themed boat. The T10 Shimikaze is probably the best regular tech tree torpedo boat in the game. The Haragumo is one of the better gun boat DD's in the game.

Yeah this is true enough, but would like to add that at least some of the IJN torpedo focused line ships can actually put up a surprising gunfight if they choose where and against what with some care, or if they get cornered and decide to go down fighting they can inflict good amounts of damage before being sunk.

Beta Testers
1,713 posts