AirBear8

Decision Time: Smolensk vs. Thunderer

27 comments in this topic

Members
138 posts
6,568 battles

I have enough coal to get either ship now with the coupon.   My clan mates are saying get the Smolensk.   My stats are much better on BB's than any other class of ship.  I rarely run my Atlanta or Minotaur because I'm not good at keeping thin skinned CL's alive for long.   I am doing well in Ranked Sprint with the Belfast thou.  The last Clan Wars (T8) I ran the Prinz Eugen or Baltimore, both have some armor protection.  I did not do well when trying the Bayard, Irian, or Cleveland.  

I've watched Youtube reviews of both these coal ships and I'm just not sure which one to get.   Now for Coop I've heard the Smolensk is better credit earner just because the battles go so fast a BB doesn't have time to do much.    So I'd like to hear from anyone who has run either ship in Coop and also in random battles.  The smoke on the Smolensk maxes out at 3 charges I think even with premium and Superintendent, the Belfast gives one more.    But my Belfast has been torn up in Ranked while sitting in smoke just from many ships firing blind into the smoke.   Still have a 60%+ win rate with it thou.     The Thunderer is supposed to be very accurate but squishy.   I can aim and shoot well but watching the map and the overall tactical situation are my weak points.   In the tech tree I have Yamato, Montana, & G.K.  I have the T8 French and have researched but don't plan to buy the Monarch.  I'm sitting on 1.3M FreeXp so plan go straight to the Lion, although if I buy the Thunderer I may just call it quits on the UK BB line and not get the Lion or Conquerer.  

Thanks for any insights.

[PVE]
Members
9,974 posts
18,144 battles
29 minutes ago, AirBear8 said: