Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Oomirsh

Carrier Experience - I'm new to Wow (less than month)

8 comments in this topic

Members
2 posts
571 battles

I've worked my way up to a Langley and have just started playing co-op matches.  Obviously human players are much smarter than the AI BOTs and it's more challenging.  One theme that seems to keep happening is the lone destroyer that manages to end around to the back and find my carrier from time to time.  What I've noticed is that if I have no supporting ships I may as well write off the carrier.  I simply cannot do enough damage to make a difference before I get closed on and killed.  I've spent an entire game going after one lone battleship by myself just to see if I can sink it solo and at best I've beaten them down to half.  Mind you that I've taken full torpedo squadrons in and managed to hit with all torpedos before going back and then returning for more.  While I'm no expert I do know the mechanics of the different squadrons and can get "good" hits on ships which basically mess up the paint job.  The damage is pathetic.  Also, one torpedo at a time?  Two bombs? Only the rocket planes have a reasonable looking attack pattern.

I get a lot more kills using destroyers/battleships than I can ever get with a cv unless I happen to stumble on ships that are ready to sink from previous beatings they've taken with other ships.  At least I can defend myself in a DD or BB.

I had been thinking of buying the Enterprise due to the fact that I'm a big fan of the ship historically, but I am now seriously remorseful for having spent any money on this game at this point.  I thought air power won the war in the Pacific?  I can't even protect myself from a lone destroyer if it finds me alone in open water.

[HINON]
Members
12,125 posts