Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
QWERTYEel89

How to Tirpitz/Aim

7 comments in this topic

Members
105 posts
3,387 battles

I've looked up some vids recently and have tried to apply this knowledge tentatively. I try to use straight AP aside from the "straight at em" BBs that come my way but lately the Tirpitz has become kinda iffy. I thought I was getting the hang of her (and bbs in general) but over the last few days I've had some ugly matches. Doing my best not to rage at RNG though I know there's always that factor I've had some bad experiences with the Tirpitz's AP, especially today when I splashed the broadside of a Hipper (at less than 10 KM) at least 6 times and got overpens or just plain bounces. I stick to the script when aiming: for the belly area of broadside cruisers and pray but when they hit it seems to either overpen or bounce, even got a few no-damage penetrations (shoutout to WOT). I try to close the distance (>15 KM) seeing as German BBs accuracy is suspect. Meanwhile same caliber guns on ships like the Bismarck have landed some juicy hits on me so I figure either I'm not using the Tirpitz's AP effectively or I'm putting too much stock in citadel hits (perhaps I should aim a bit higher for more consistent damage?) and falling flat with respect to damage. I avoid wasting shots on ships that are angled in the 50/60 degree region since that's autobounce territory unless I have the patience to pepper their superstructure with it. Perhaps I should put some more faith in the HE of the Tirpitz (and bbs in general) however upon reentering this game the rule seemed to be AP for everything in a BB (aside from a lurking DD or a super armored BB).