Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
GrayPanther2018

New game type? Historic Battles

5 comments in this topic

[PHD]
Members
637 posts
2,904 battles

There has been some desire for a historical battle and or nation against nation. But the MM times would not be practical. 

But I had an idea that might work, or not, as I am not a programmer. 

How about a historical battle where the correct ships, or close, are already on the map in the proper spawn location. (Is that how training room works?)

But the players, if they don't have the correct ship but have XP in a ship of the same class and tier, are put into the correct ship that is already on the map. (Rental like) They just start in port with the ship type they want to play but it will not be the one they use in battle. 

Say the battle of Salvo Island all the cruisers and destroyers are there before the players enter the que. (Slightly bad example as WG has not made a County Class CA yet) How about North Cape instead. 

This could eliminate some of the MM problems. Would it work? 

So that the task forces could have more coordination it could be tried as a clan battle first.

Being a historical game I think many players might like to see how they would do. The old Task Force 1942 had a recreation mode, but that was single player.

• Cool 1
  • Boring 1

Members
18 posts

I do like this idea and hope they find some way of adding a historical battle mode in the future. Your example does have promise of a way it can be added and maybe just maybe they keep this post in mind....maybe give you a free premium if they use it lol.

[PN]
[PN]
Beta Testers
7,066 posts
17,206 battles

They could make that a separate mode with its own matchmaker. Players could enter any ship they have in port that is the same class as the ship that actually participated in the battle.