Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
RutgerS

Reading material for a beginner?

16 comments in this topic

Alpha Tester
1,702 posts
208 battles

Hi guys, i'm a WoT vet, and a WoWp beta tester. But now i'd like to learn about battleships, especially about their history, famous ships, famous battles, etc etc...

so can you recommend reading material, be it online or in books to get me started?

I do prefer starting in the battleship era, so the 1700-something ships of the line don't really interest me, i want steel :)

[-LA-]
Alpha Tester
634 posts
2,465 battles
Dreadnought and Castles of Steel by Robert K. Massie tells the story of the dawn of the battleship era and the key battles they were involved with in WW1. That would be my recommendation for getting started with this era, as it makes sense to start at the beginning.

[-YK-]
Beta Testers
847 posts
19,949 battles

In terms of TV documentaries, there's not much. There's Greatest Tank Battles for WoT or Dogfights for WoWp, but the closest thing you'll find for warships is Battle Battle 360°, but that series is US-centric. Otherwise, you can find miscellaneous episodes of other documentary series, such as Seconds from Disaster's episode about the sinking of the Bismarck.

In terms of Wikipedia, there's no article on ship maneuvering or strategy that I know of. The only articles that mention naval strategy without simply being an article about a naval battle that I know of are these: http://en.wikipedia....-control_system and http://en.wikipedia..../Crossing_the_T

In terms of other free material for reading about naval strategy, the only thing that comes to mind is PBS's analysis of the battleship Yamato: http://www.pbs.org/w...omy-yamato.html

In my opinion, it seems that ships are simply too large and complex for people to be interested in them.

Alpha Tester
4,453 posts
535 battles