You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
XpliCT_

The Problems With CVs, and How to Fix Them

35 comments in this topic

Members
1,051 posts
4,673 battles

Let me preface this discussion by saying that I have limited experience playing CVs post rework.  I have not played them, am not very good in them, and have next to no intention to get better at them.  They are bland, and boring for me to play when compared to a surface ship, and there are a few reasons for that, that I will try to address.  I will be talking exclusively about T10 ships, as that is what I play, and I'd imagine most people grind for those.  Discussions are welcome, and if you think I'm completely wrong, let me know.  

1.  Assured First Strike

The first, and potentially main, issue with CVs is their ability to strike ANY target in the game, at least once.  Regardless of what ship you are in, what commander spec you are, and how you are positioned, a CV is practically guaranteed at least a single strike on your ship.  There is, at most, a single exception to this, and that would be a full AA spec Minotaur that is kiting away.  Plane kills are extremely non-linear currently, and while the AA damage change on PTS will address this to a certain extent, it will not fix the core issue.  Attack squads are simply too large to shoot down in a short period of time.  Compound this with things like AA now being blocked by islands, which isn't an inherently bad thing, slingshotting, and the unreliability of flack, and you simply cannot deal enough damage quick enough to kill an entire squad.  On more than one occasion, a Hakaryu has been able to rush my AA spec DM, in ranked, through fighters, DFAA and proper sector management, and get a drop off for multiple citadels.  Once the planes pass, most, if not all, will die, but by that point the damage is done, and the CV will regenerate planes.  I will not be able to regenerate the HP that I lost.