You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Caernavon

Recent Dive Bomber Nerf Catastrophic For Midway

17 comments in this topic

[KAOS_]
Members
10 posts
6,406 battles

The recent change to the dive bomber drop reticle...combined with a much-increased dispersion of bombs....has seriously degraded my ability to actually do damage with dive bombers.

When I started playing Midway, I quickly came to the realization that dive bombers were the ship's best offensive weapon. The torpedoes are absolute garbage...even if you score six hits in a pass with them...which isn't guaranteed...it's not typically devastating to a Tier 10 vessel. Yamato, for example, laughs at the puny torpedo strikes.

The Tiny Tim rockets from the Attack Planes hit decently hard, but the planes themselves are the most fragile of all the air groups on the carrier...they get splashed quickly.

But the dive bombers? Those were precise, and they hit hard.

Now, however, they're severely weakened. Hitting a destroyer with dive bombers is extremely difficult unless the destroyer's captain is completely oblivious and sails in a straight line. I get that....Wargaming wanted to reduce their effectiveness against destroyers. Having played destroyers before the update, I can completely understand how it felt to have Midway dump four bombs on me in one salvo. But the update has had a massively deleterious effect on the ability to utilize dive bombers in general. Now, in order to score any appreciable damage, you have to have a perfect approach....either directly from the bow or the stern. Attacking a ship from the side with dive bombers is pointless. Even a modest turn by the targeted warship results in an immediate and serious degradation of the effectiveness of the air strike.