You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
SephirothFyr

literally does not know how to play DD

52 comments in this topic

Members
12 posts

coming from a CA player with 52% win rate, thought i was some what decent to the game. Since I finished grinding zao and the CA captain, thought I may try DD. so I started of wth Umikaze and Wakatake. Did terriable. Did not contribute to the team at all. I just cant wrap my head to understand that I am a DD now, still tried to do what i did as CA: burn  BB, hunt DD, provide AA for BB. Also im too spoiled by IJPN CA's shell arc, cant aim at all.

• Cool 1

[TSG4B]
Volunteer Moderator Coordinator
2,556 posts
13,987 battles
5 minutes ago, SephirothFyr said:

Any tip on CA to DD transitions?

MORE PRACTICES IN CO-OP FIRST TO GET AROUND

• Funny 1

[WOLF2]
Members
1,585 posts
10,129 battles

I'm still a noob in a DD.    That's on the agenda for 2019 - get decent in the DD.

To start, I worked in co-op.   Knowing that the red bots will always head to the DD, that's how I tailored my practice.     First steps - concealment.      Can I effectively spot and not be spotted myself? (luckily, the WG events will usually have something like "spot 10 ships").   I actually made it a bit harder, and used the Pan Asian DDs, with torps that only work on CA, BB, and CV.   They won't hit DDs, so if I get in close to a DD, I'll only have guns.     I'd try different games, such as seeing how long I could play in a match without firing weapons.   Or spotting to get the red DD out of the way and then moving towards torping the cruisers and BBs.      

With Co-op, you can practice and even if you don't fire a shot, it won't hurt your team, as the others can usually carry.

I started with my T3 Pan Asian DD.   After a dozen games, I moved it into randoms and worked on the same efforts.   Spotting, strategic capping, torping, knife fighting, etc.