Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
ihsasum

CV rework is fine but its the core game mechanics need a rework

10 comments in this topic

[ZAOAI]
Members
68 posts
33,330 battles

First of all, I am a CV noob before the rework but I am quite good at all other ship types. I am one of top players in terms of games played and I have enough experience on how things work and don't at least from BB, CA and DD point of view. After trying some 100 games in the new CVs and other ship types, here are my thoughts.

The root of CVs problem is not CV itself but 3 core game mechanics. 1. Perma spotting mechanic and shared vision. 2. AA mechanic. 3. DCP mechanic. 

1. Perma spotting mechanic and shared vision
Before the rework, there is no way for surface ships, especially DD counter it. the CV can just perma spot those ships and let his teamates to finish them off. After rework, the issue is not solved. I would say its even worse. Before the rework, CV can cross drop a DD, if the DD is skilled or with defaa, it can dodge those torps and be safe for the next 2 mins until the 2nd wave of attack. Now, hyper fast rocket planes can rocket spam a DD to near death even under heavy aa fire and in the first 3 mins of the game. 

I also want to stress that perma spotting MAKES ALL AMUSH, SNEAKY AND FLANKING PLAYS NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE and thus make the game monotonous and boring. It becomes a 18-20km long range sniping until one of team out shoot another. There is no thrilling and heroic games of comeback because perma spotting prevent that from happening.

2. AA mechanic. 
Before the rework, the AA system itself has nothing to do with personal skill. Its a mathematical formula, if you calculate x amount of AA dps times x% of def aa bonus minus x amount of aa guns destoryed vs x amount of planes with x amount of hp pool coming at you. With the careful timing on def aa usage and manuvering, you will know whether you can survive CV drop of not.