Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
KaptainNemo_1

The most broken thing in 8.0 is the pre-release testing

21 comments in this topic

[P2W]
Members
126 posts
8,144 battles

Obviously we've had buckets of commentary about the new CV features in 8.0, and we see that there is going to be a hot-fix coming to address some of them. I've also seen repeated commentary from both WG employees and fellow travelers that there was insufficient input on the Public Test Servers to address these issues, so they had to just channel their inner Bill O'Reilly and shout "We'll do it live!!!" I'm writing this comment to say that this indicates a really broken development and test process for the software.

By way of background, I'm a professional software engineer with roughly 40 years in the business and an advanced degree from a top university, so this isn't idle speculation about how software development might be done. This is based on solid experience developing various sorts of software, all with far more critical audiences than the ones faced by game developers. So, my opinion is that there are two core things that are broken with the WG process:

• Not having a decent in-house test group able to identify both functional and design errors
  • Not doing enough consulting with highly-skilled experts  before releasing an update