Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Taco_De_Moist

CVs OP or CVs Weak?

10 comments in this topic

[CHBK]
Members
562 posts
2,452 battles

I am going to start off by saying, I am not a CV captain, I have a handful of games in CV's and just messed around with them a bit in co-op after the rework hit.  I'm not good at the new mechanic, I did manage to put up 140k in the Saipan in a co-op game and dont ask me why I bought that ship long ago when I never play CVs, I dont know. I took the opportunity to see how long it took me to kill a lone full health BB.  Even being able to repeatedly strike, not losing many planes, it took me so long to kill that bastard.  Obviously as people get better this will improve, but it sure wasnt easy for me. 

With that said, I am seeing people complain about CVs being OP and people complaining they are totally weak.  From my experience, mostly playing BB's and Cruisers.  The carriers in the games I've played have been practical non-factors.  I maybe have been successfully struck by a carrier 2-3 times and the damage was laughable.  I mostly just see squadrons, just getting ripped apart by AA.  I've player T5-10 and its the same story regardless of tier.

I don't understand how people are coming to such vastly different conclusions on the effectiveness of CV's.  I get DD's and cruisers that rely on stealth are having issues with spotting and that should be addressed, but CV's in and of themselves from my experience so far are not in any way shape or form OP in their ability to deal damage.  I don't get how Im seeing BB mains in particular complain about being focused into oblivion by a CV, how, in a game full of people is this happening to you.   I have to believe its confirmation bias in their brain, its the cv rework patch, a CV killed me, therefore only the CV was attacking me, when in reality surface ships did 80% of the damage to them and the CV finished them off.

• Cool 1

[RCB4]