You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
IcyThor

Fletcher advice

6 comments in this topic

[DONUT]
Members
438 posts
6,100 battles

I am retraining a 16 point commander from one of my CVs to command the Fletcher.  I am new to the Fletcher.  Which are the most important commander skills?  I have her set up with Main Armaments, Damage Control, Aiming Systems, Propulsion 2, Steering Gears 3, Main Battery 3.  Should I change any of these? 

Is the Fletcher best played as guns first or torps first? 

I played the Mahan until I got some experience.  I just skimmed past the others to get T9 for ranked.  I know people in Ranked will yell at me for my lack of experience but I only want to complete the first level. 

Icy

[PQUOD]
[PQUOD]
Members
2,721 posts
10,887 battles

The Fletch is a good jack of all trades boat. It can be a AA DD, a torpedo boat, a gun boat. Really depends on your preference style of play. Personally, the torp set up is my preference.

Edited by Capt_Ahab1776

[DONUT]
Members
438 posts
6,100 battles

@Capt_Ahab1776   I upgraded the torp speed and range.  But I am terrible at being detected and killed in the first few mins.  Should I hold back even if others yell at me?

[PQUOD]
[PQUOD]
Members
2,721 posts
10,887 battles
Just now, IcyThor said:

@Capt_Ahab1776   I upgraded the torp speed and range.  But I am terrible at being detected and killed in the first few mins.  Should I hold back even if others yell at me?

"Can't be a help if your dead." My go to DD sensai gave me that helpful advice. It rings true. The Fletch being a T9 will almost always face radar cruisers. A general rule of thumb for me is dance near the edge of their radar range if there is no way to hide or get a kill shot. Use caution at the beginning of the game. The longer you live, the more valuable you as a DD captain becomes.

• Cool 1

[CUTER]
Members
2,909 posts
12,206 battles