You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
StoptheViolins

Shouldn't Ships Actually be Anchored in Port?

37 comments in this topic

[LLMF]
Alpha Tester
1,703 posts

Shouldn't a ship in our port have their anchors down or shouldn't the ship itself be tied to a pier somewhere via mooring line?

I just realized today there isn't much keeping our ships from floating around the port...

[OO7]
[OO7]
Members
3,760 posts
10,278 battles

They also rock on the water like they've been struck by a hurricane.... 

• Cool 1

Members
1,481 posts
10 battles
8 minutes ago, StoptheViolins said:

Shouldn't a ship in our port have their anchors down or shouldn't the ship itself be tied to a pier somewhere via mooring line?

I just realized today there isn't much keeping our ships from floating around the port...

Being a Naval veteran I will say Ships NEVER use their anchors in port. They are always secured using mooring lines. 

• Cool 3

[NMKJT]
Members
3,443 posts
Just now, UssIowaSailor said:

Being a Naval veteran I will say Ships NEVER use their anchors in port. They are always secured using mooring lines. 

I see naval ships come into port from time to time. They use their anchors. 

Members
1,481 posts
10 battles
1 minute ago, Wombatmetal said:

LOL doubtful, the anchor itself is not what keeps a ship stationary it is the weight of the chain that keeps them secure. On the Iowa I don't think we ever let out less than 1000 feet of anchor chain.

[NMKJT]
Members
3,443 posts
Just now, UssIowaSailor said:

LOL doubtful, the anchor itself is not what keeps a ship stationary it is the weight of the chain that keeps them secure. On the Iowa I don't think we ever let out less than 1000 feet of anchor chain.

The anchor chain makes a loud noise when it drops, I hear it at home  and that's several miles inland.