You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Ghostar_1

Learning with the Prinze Eugen

9 comments in this topic

[ARA]
Members
13 posts
472 battles

Hi all! 

I won this ship some days ago and im struggling with it. 

Granted that im still New at the game, but I find difficult to play it=>do damage. 

Survival is not a problem, and maybe this is part of the issue here I usually stay alive until the end of the game unless I commit a mistake, maybe I need to be more aggressive 

I play mainly CLs, Dallas and Helena and Eugen is a bit different with the RoF. 

I usually do around 20000 (with CLs too) damage mostly in Ranked, as most of time I am MM with T9 and T10 i usually battle at 12-14km of the target... Because everyone maintain that distance or higher and afaik you should not go alone. 

Use HE and when someone shows the broadsidei change to AP, my Captain build is the usual for the ship and i lvl 11.

Any advice? Should I stay with CL a bit more or buy the Cleveland if I want to go to T8? 

Thanks

[HINON]
Supertester
20,089 posts
13,547 battles

I have to go to work in 5 minutes so I don't have the time to write up a good and long response. However, a few basic tips:

• You have the most powerful 203mm AP shells in the game, use them. A lot.
  • Your HE shells are artificially nerfed to balance out great AP. Use HE when you must, but consider AP your primary shell.
  • Fire HE at sharply angled battleships, AP at unangled battleships and angled cruisers' superstructures, AP at broadside cruiser hulls, your choice of AP or HE at destroyers.
  • You have torpedoes, but that doesn't mean you have to use them. They're a weapon of opportunity. Don't suicide to get a torpedo launch off.
  • Your armor scheme actually works better the closer you are to the enemy. You're still a cruiser, so you'll still die under withering fire, but don't be afraid to close in.