You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
dechion

Considering the Indianapolis

54 comments in this topic

[WOLFX]
Beta Testers, In AlfaTesters
1,063 posts
3,505 battles

For the longest time I have been a DD main (IJN, USN, and German in particular) and I still enjoy them.

Recently I started playing around with the Cleveland that I won off of a mission back when the lines split. I've had a lot of fun with her and with the sale that's currently going on I'm considering buying Indianapolis as well. 

Just curious what advice others that have played them both would have. Are the playstyles and performance similar?

Would you recommend Indy? 

If not, is there another of the tier 6 or 7 cruisers currently on sale you would recommend? If so why?

Members
6,277 posts
19,822 battles

as for other ships yes.. and then more yes. As for US cruisers, look at the Boise, the same captain can be used in the Dallas, Atlanta, Helena, Cleveland, Seattle, and Worcester as you progress... The Indi, god bless her, is not an easy ship to play.

[GRETA]
[GRETA]
Members
580 posts
16,750 battles

Indy is a heavy cruiser with long reload. In exchange, her heavy AP shells hit hard and get improved auto bounce angles. She's definitely not an HE slinger like the Cleveland.

If you're for something similar to the Cleveland, I would suggest the Atlanta or Boise.

[WOLF8]
Members
6,849 posts
5,971 battles

AFAIK, Cleveland is a light cruiser (CL), with 155 mm (or was it 152 mm?) caliber main armament, and Indianapolis is a heavy cruiser (CA), with 203 mm main armaments. Their play style isn't quite the same, because the caliber difference dictates the reload speed, which greatly sets them apart. The whole point of the USN cruiser line split was to separate the CL's and CA's in two separate lines. Simply put, CL's are more of an automatic machine gun "dakka dakka dakka" botes, where as CA's are more of a semi-auto rifles... IMHO.