Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
NemOmeN

Smoke or no smoke?

9 comments in this topic

Members
2 posts
211 battles

OK so I'm very new to this game, but being myself, I looked at some videos to give me some idea what to do when I actually started playing.  I'm liking DDs the best but there's a question here that needs answering or maybe unpacking.

Do I smoke the line of advance or not?

The way I read things, as long as I or someone else on the team is either in advance of the smoke or on the flank of the smoke with clear LOS to enemies, the smoke is a net benefit to our side, as it provides some concealment from spotting to the ships behind me.  We spot them from the advance/flank unit, but they may not spot us.  

However, when I apply this in game, I get comments that lead me to believe the other players don't think that.  

I'm confused- can some kind soul out there unconfuse me?  And please tell me WHY one way or the other.  'Don't smoke' is what I'm getting now- variants on the same advice won't be helpful.  I need to understand the reasons.

Thanks!

[BLHK]
Members
472 posts
3,673 battles
11 minutes ago, NemOmeN said:

OK so I'm very new to this game, but being myself, I looked at some videos to give me some idea what to do when I actually started playing.  I'm liking DDs the best but there's a question here that needs answering or maybe unpacking.

Do I smoke the line of advance or not?

The way I read things, as long as I or someone else on the team is either in advance of the smoke or on the flank of the smoke with clear LOS to enemies, the smoke is a net benefit to our side, as it provides some concealment from spotting to the ships behind me.  We spot them from the advance/flank unit, but they may not spot us.  

However, when I apply this in game, I get comments that lead me to believe the other players don't think that.