You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
KnifeInUrNeck

Ranked T5 is horrible

44 comments in this topic

Members
4 posts
1,822 battles

Now I sincerely hate to be that guy, but after the quality of play I’ve seen, I feel I have to. I apologize if this is the 50th post about this but I didn’t see any recent posts. That said, I feel that ranked at T5 is maybe one of the worst decisions I’ve seen regarding gameplay. Don’t get me wrong, I like playing at T5. Range is less so fights are closer which leads to less camping and more fighting. However, this also opens the doors to new or newish players that are nowhere near ready for competitive play. I’ve been playing this game off and on for years and I feel like I’m still learning something new every day. I’m no expert either but, honestly, bots would play better than many of the players I’m matched with or against. The matches are usually B.B. and DD heavy while light on the cruisers which requires the cruisers to be exceptional. I’ve seen cruisers rush the cap and get melted as if they were a DD or something. I’ve seen DDs abound the whole team to hunt a kill when the team desperately needs torp screen. 

Now I understand T10 didn’t guarantee skill but it DID guarantee experience. Why not make two tiers? Is the player base so small that it wouldn’t work? Maybe. But based on the rewards I have zero incentive to A) play ranked as it is and B) rush to level my trees to T10 as there’s no real need for them since there’s not many T10 random matches. T10 ranked was one of the places I’d be excited to drive my Montana.  Not to mention how toxic it is for new players to be matched with veterans. It’s brutal man. The idea was sound in practice but if there isn’t proper skill based matchmaking it’s an absolute crapshow. I wasn’t super excited before but now I have zero motivation to participate. But hey, I’m just one person and what do I know?

• Cool 1
  • Boring 4
  • Bad 3
  • Angry 1

Members