You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Helmut__Kohl

Le Terrible: Short Review

24 comments in this topic

Members
241 posts
11 battles

There seems to be a lot of uncertainty about this ship (no LWM review yet), so lets do a quick review.

Since I played DD at the highest level of Clan Wars and Ranked (EU Server), I have some experience to judge this ship. I am not trying to replace @LittleWhiteMouse though, who is probably working on a full review right now.

1. Guns

Le Terrible has 120k HE DPM.
That is not as good as Bensons (B-hull) 160k, but the ballistics on Le Terrible are better. They are in fact comparable to German DDs. Z-23 (T8) has 98k, Z-52 (TX) has 135k.
So the base DPM is actually quite decent, not far from Z-52 with similar ballistics.

Reload booster doubles that DPM for 15 seconds, giving you 240k.
To put this into perspective: Gearing/Yueyang have 216k, Harugumo has 240k.
Yes, your Harugumo DPM lasts only 15 seconds, but in that time you can do 22.200 HE damage to an enemy DD, if you hit every shot.

Base firechance is 10%, so very high even with 5 guns only.
Reload Booster enables you to quickly set perma-fires on a BB that just repaired a flooding.

Gun range is 12.3 without AFT and 14.7 with AFT. (Khaba with AFT has 13.5, Grozo with AFT has 14.7.)
German ballistics enable you to work those 14.7 if you want, but they are not railguns like Khaba has.

AP penetration is actually comparable to Khaba at 10km, but I will have to do more testing on that.

Gun traverse is very slow, but EM (especially on the unique captain) makes it alright.

The gun angles are not good, but still workable, especially at that kind of speed.
In 1v1 DD fights they can be a problem however, as it will force you to show more side, which makes it easier for you to be a victim of AP or torpedoes.
The strength of this ship is hunting down wounded DDs with insane speed and finishing them quickly with reload boost. It is not a cage-fighter.