Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
dmckay

Smoke! Differing opinions.

16 comments in this topic

Members
4,452 posts
6,164 battles

I just got DD T-61. I have little experience in DDs. I don't really know JACK BLANK about the best or sane use of smoke.  Issue!  I have watched some vids on youtube regarding smoke past 2 days and gee whiz you watch 3 and you get 3 differing views about how best to use smoke. If you know about smoke give me your tips for how BEST to use it playing DDs. If anyone responds I will weigh your advice.  I do need advice on rational and intelligent use of smoke.  Playing my cruisers I have seen players that, IMO, don't know what the hell they are doing in a DD when smoking but I am no expert on this at all.  Help!  Tks

Edited by dmckay

[ENDVR]
Members
368 posts
5,203 battles

T-61 uses it mostly for disengaging but can also use it offensively when combined with hydro for counter-dd play.

Edited by SmokeHenge
Phonetyping

Members
4,452 posts
6,164 battles
1 minute ago, SmokeHenge said:

T-61 used it mostly for disengaging but can also use it offensively when combined with hydro for counter-dd play.

You mean use hydo when red DD is on cap in smoke and spot him and torp his azz? 

[ENDVR]
Members
368 posts
5,203 battles

Pretty much, but shooting works better at that point. Hydro will likely start him moving so you’re probably better off torping, holding for a bit, then smoke, hydro, shoot.

[FOXEH]
Members
3,321 posts
11,856 battles

One thing you don't want to do is sit in smoke and lose your ability to spot. Smoke has become a torp magnet. I lay smoke to get red DD and cruisers to commit torps to the cloud and waste time on nothing and to mask my teams advance. I then leave the smoke so I can spot red targets for my team. T-61 is stealthy enough to do this without herself being seen.