Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Commander_Krill

Ryujo (and higher) question

5 comments in this topic

Members
27 posts
1,093 battles

I recently started playing Ryujo, mostly for operations since I don't have a captain to match the other 10+ point captains in randoms.

I'm looking for affirmation for Random play.  In Co-Op, I don't immediately go out and attack with my TBs and DBs.  I try to engage the AI fighters and let my ships wear down AA modules first.  Then I go for finishing off limping ships or ships that have taken a decent amount of fire in the hopes their AA umbrella doesn't kill me.  I also try to target lone DDs ahead of the pack early.

Is that a decent strategy or am I doing something wrong?  I blitzed through T5 because I wanted to get on with manual dropping and strafing but is my general thought process not bad for a beginner?  Or am I way off the mark?

Thanks.

Alpha Tester
230 posts
3,626 battles

targeting alone dds is the best especially at the start of the battle. But tier 6 will be rough due to being constantly up tiered. Just remember that scouting is one of the important roles of a cv more so in randoms than Co-Op

[HC]
[HC]
Beta Testers
1,687 posts
10,551 battles
19 minutes ago, Commander_Krill said:

I recently started playing Ryujo, mostly for operations since I don't have a captain to match the other 10+ point captains in randoms.

I'm looking for affirmation for Random play.  In Co-Op, I don't immediately go out and attack with my TBs and DBs.  I try to engage the AI fighters and let my ships wear down AA modules first.  Then I go for finishing off limping ships or ships that have taken a decent amount of fire in the hopes their AA umbrella doesn't kill me.  I also try to target lone DDs ahead of the pack early.