Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
IvarTheBrainless

The Current State of IJN DDs

7 comments in this topic

Members
36 posts
3,590 battles

I remember when I first started playing WoWs last August. As a typical noob I wanted to grind the IJN DD line to Shimakaze as I had seen videos (that I realized were back in its glory days) of its immense power. I get my DD stats (don't even look at my Mutsuki stats) are pretty terrible as a whole. This is partially due to my inexperience when starting with IJN DDs. I'm not the upmost authority on IJN DDs but my blissful ignorance when I began playing led me down the line to Kagero, which I sold because the playstyle had become quite underwhelming when the enemy easily evaded my torps.

My whole issue with IJN DDs is that it seems like they've lost their identity. Other DDs have similar concealment (around 400-800 meters worse) but are way better at contesting caps. The uptick of radar ships also certainly doesn't help that. IJN DDs have also been outclassed in torpedo armament. Case and point PA DDs. Who cares if you have long range torps when another set of DDs has torps that aren't spotted from the moon, but can't hit DDs. It's not like you'll often hit a competent DDs anyways since one of the most important parts of playing DD is to not sit broadside.

Now, the ship that has lost its identity the most in this line is Shimakaze. Sure, she has those long range, hard hitting torps that reach 20km, but these torps are extremely hard to kill with due to their 2.5km concealment which gives enemies more than enough time to dodge. You might land a torp here and there, but you won't do much unless an enemy (most likely a battleship) makes a colossal error. These torps' main purpose I can assume is to zone, but that's not how players use them.