Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
CrazyHorse_Denver

Smoke vs. Torpedo reload boost...your opinions?

27 comments in this topic

Members
1,019 posts
13,047 battles

DDs were the last class of ships I started playing so it's taken me a while to acquire the Kagero with it's option of either smoke or torp reload boost. 5 games so far all with the torp boost; 1 win 4 losses 4 ships killed in 4 different games. The best game I've had so far was on Two Brothers were I sent all 16 torps into cap A, sank a BB with 6 hits and crippled a CA with 2 other hits. Oh yes, I can see how useful this is going to be... on the other hand in some of the other games, usually just before dying I've been saying to myself, "Damn I wish I had some smoke!".

So what do you DD mains think about it? Do you go with those massive torp strikes or keep that life saving smoke. It could be that with all the radar in the game smoke is no longer as useful as it once was. If that's so does anyone have some tips on good Kagero with torp boost loaded tactics.

Thanks in advance.:cap_like:

[ERN]
[ERN]
Modder, Alpha Tester, In AlfaTesters, Beta Testers
10,123 posts
4,270 battles

I rather have more fishes in the water then hide in my smoke

• Cool 1

[BIAS]
Members
3,151 posts
9,233 battles

In an ijn dd, your strength is spotting and torping. I try to run it in a manner where I don't need smoke. If that means not using guns, then I don't use guns. 

• Cool 1

[TBW]
Members
6,401 posts
12,031 battles

I think that it is a pretty equal (one of the most equal) trades, as far as consumables go. Torp reload is a more consistent play-style, while the smoke/radar style varies a lot more, with the meta.

Edited by Sovereigndawg

Members
2,992 posts
5,204 battles