You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
doshoru

Best Class

19 comments in this topic

[VENUM]
Members
15 posts

Hi, I'm new here.

I realize this is probably an old topic, but please bear with me.

I'm new to the game, and don't have a lot of money.  I heard that the Russian class lines are currently the best, is that true?

Some friends are telling me that the destroyers have guns and armor that are as good as cruisers, or even battleships, but they move like destroyers.  I think this is the ship for me.  Please comment!

• Cool 1

[ARS]
Beta Testers
2,911 posts
2,810 battles

No, Russians are not the best.

Best varies quite a bit based on what you want to do and what your skills are better at.

Only one Russian DD has armor, and it is a 50mm belt.  No BB or cruiser at Tier anything past 4 (and that DD is 10) have armor thinner than that.  Well, maybe the Tier 5 British cruiser Emerald.

Describe what you want to play like and we can suggest lines that might suit you.

Members
1,376 posts
8,793 battles
5 minutes ago, doshoru said:

I'm new to the game, and don't have a lot of money.  I heard that the Russian class lines are currently the best, is that true?

Not really.  There are a handful of individually great Russian ships in the game, but there are also some outright clunkers.  The Budyonny is awesome; the Podvoisky sucks.  This is true of pretty much every ship line.  There is no widespread consensus on what line is "currently the best" line.  It varies depending on what tier and playstyle you're looking for.

7 minutes ago, doshoru said:

Some friends are telling me that the destroyers have guns and armor that are as good as cruisers, or even battleships, but they move like destroyers.  I think this is the ship for me.  Please comment!