You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
misanthrope0

Do Bombs under perform...

13 comments in this topic

[WOLFB]
Beta Testers
910 posts
6,119 battles

… VS torps?  Reason I ask is I blew the dust off my Saipan and decided to run a couple games in Co-Op and went with the oversized Bomb squadron instead of torpedo bombers. Despite 14 out of 24 hits including the enemy CV for two strikes I got 37840 damage of which 3040 was fire damage. One of the hits was non penetrating.  Now torps are almost 1000 potential damage less than bombs yet torps seem to score more towards their max damage than bombs do.

True?

[BUNNY]
[BUNNY]
Members
96 posts
1,858 battles

I just started playing Langley and I've noticed the same thing.  Bombs usually seem to do very little damage, but almost always start a fire

[SYN]
[SYN]
Members
1,564 posts
16,962 battles

Bombs are more susceptible to RNG.  Once you get the AP bombs in T8 plus our BBs hate you.  Until then, they are for spotting and fire damage.

[TBW]
Members
7,380 posts
13,558 battles

I have only 100 or so CV battles, but even I know, that you don't use the bomb squadrons with Saipan. Well maybe in Co op.

[RLGN]
Members
10,033 posts
19,426 battles
3 minutes ago, RipNuN2 said:

HE saturates quickly.  TB saipan is the better loadout.

This has so rarely been the case for me it’s not even funny.

Saipan’s TBs have basically been nothing but whale torpedoing AA targets.

’So fast they shouldn’t be exposed to AA very much?’

Tell that to all the Skyraiders I’ve lost trying to attack even ‘easy ‘ targets.

Autodrop and get 1-2 hits; or manual drop and everything gets shot down for 1-2 hits...

...that’s how Saipan was for me....

...such fun.

[HINON]
Members
10,646 posts
1 minute ago, Estimated_Prophet said:

This has so rarely been the case for me it’s not even funny.

Saipan’s TBs have basically been nothing but whale torpedoing AA targets.

’So fast they shouldn’t be exposed to AA very much?’