DonKarnage2

Military History Sites Worth Seeing

18 comments in this topic

[LRM]
Supertester
550 posts
5,041 battles

First, I encourage others to post in here as well. This isn't just a thread for me to place stuff.

Second, I have a Degree in History with a focus on Military History and a strong focus on the Ancient Middle East and the Golden Age of Sail (specifically regarding the Caribbean). So, I find this kind of thing neat.

Third, this thread will hopefully help others see what else there is to see and visit. If others post in here too, hopefully I will get some ideas for future trips.

Fourth, I will do additional sites in subsequent posts.

Fifth, while I have seen a lot of places like Gettysburg, Little Big Horn, and Pearl Harbor I was a kid for many of them and have no photos. Still, I'm willing to answer questions about places I have been to.

Sixth, feel free to comment.

Edited by DonKarnage2
  • Cool 1

[LRM]
Supertester
550 posts
5,041 battles

Note: I have placed the more graphic photos behind a spoiler. It is not my intention to violate community standards, and there is nothing that is overly bloody (or bloody at all for that matter). Still, the preference is to try to be sensible and respectful to others. @Jazzyblaster, since you're a mod I trust you'll know if the two pictures in question need to be removed. Just let me know if they do, or do it yourself if it needs doing.

First, memorial to the Killing Fields of Choeung Ek just outside of Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

During the brief reign of the Khmer Rouge and Pol Pot in Cambodia thousands of people, very literally, were killed via various methods. I won't get into the details, you're free to research it yourself. It's not pleasant. Many of those who died were buried in various mass grave locations around the country and a few of those Mass Graves have been turned into memorials by the Cambodian Government.