Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Ducky_shot

Interesting SC occurrence

13 comments in this topic

[OO7]
Members
3,307 posts
9,766 battles

So was playing with @TheHolySpork on voice comms last night and was sitting collecting a container in port and an SC swung into view. As it was swinging into view I heard him say that he got an SC as well from collecting his container.

We pretty much collected our containers at virtually the same moment and both got super containers. 

It got me wondering, if super containers wasn't really an element of rng, but tied to a time tick. I'm no programmer and don't know if that's even possible or logical. But I wonder if there is a period of 2 seconds every 100 seconds where if you collect a container it will be a super container. 

Just thought it was interesting. 

You can see and hear it happening here:

Https://www.twitch.tv/videos/272636106?t=00h56m31s

[TSPC]
Members
2,379 posts
7,260 battles

If it's a random calculation and uses a timestamp as a seed for the random number algorithm, it'd definitely be possible (though it'd suggest the timestamp fidelity is only seconds and not ms would be somewhat questionable).

[OO7]
Members
3,307 posts
9,766 battles
Just now, enderland07 said:

If it's a random calculation and uses a timestamp as a seed for the random number algorithm, it'd definitely be possible (though it'd suggest the timestamp fidelity is only seconds and not ms would be somewhat questionable).

That's true, meaning it would be extremely hard to get 2 people clicking in an extremely narrow ms window. 

[GWG]
[GWG]
Members
5,594 posts
10,056 battles

Programmers can pretty much do anything they want.

As a debug/test part of program development, a programmer will set in a 'cheat code' or a sequence of steps to make something happen 100% of the time -- to test that part of the program.... then get distracted and forget and leave that there.

Happens.

[TSPC]
Members