Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
MohenjoDaro

Expert Loader Tweak

8 comments in this topic

[LWC]
Members
39 posts
4,475 battles

I used to use expert loader when I started playing wows, but, like most players, I figured out that it really wasn't worth getting. It's not worth it DDs or most CLs/CAs since your RoF is fast enough to make the time you save almost worthless. 600 damage or 5 seconds saved? Most can agree 600 damage is better since you can fire a new salvo quick enough.

The main ship expert loader is for is BBs. I feel like it's there to encourage firing HE at DDs as well as bow on targets. I personally would rather fire my salvo or find a new target rather than save 15 seconds with expert loader. It just doesn't save me enough time to be worth it if my guns are already loaded.

My thought is, why not *always* make it add half of the elapsed reload onto the current reload? (30 second reload, guns are loaded, so (30 / 2) + 0 = 15 seconds to switch). This acts just like expert loader when your guns are fully reloaded, but it also saves you time whenever you switch ammo.

Equation: (ElapsedTime / 2) + RemainingTime
ElapsedTime = ReloadTime - RemainingTime

Examples (Using a 30 second reload):
20s remaining: ((30 - 20) / 2) + 20 = 25s for ammo switch
15s remaining: ((30 - 15) / 2) + 15 = 22.5s for ammo switch
10s remaining: ((30 - 10) / 2) + 10 = 20s for ammo switch
0s remaining: ((30 - 0) / 2) + 0 = 15s for ammo switch (same as Expert Loader)

I feel like this would be a give players a bit more reason you take expert loader. It still isn't amazing, but I feel players might actually take it since it's only 1 point.

[ARRGG]
[ARRGG]
Members
5,770 posts

I use the one click ammo changer.

Before you shoot what is loaded one Click the change of ammo.

Once fired the alternate ammo is next in que to be loaded {Yes it still takes full reload time but if you didn't do this your still loading the same ammo}