You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Chaos_EN2

My Claim of Naval Service

78 comments in this topic

Members
4,123 posts
8,680 battles

Well I have been trying to stay off my soap box about issues. But on a different thread I got told this "Since you claim your former Navy, I'll refrain from commenting on your awareness/intelligence." Well the insult to my awareness/intelligence did not bother me, heck I have never claimed to be the brightest tool in the shed, BUT that one little word CLAIM just really got got under my skin.

So I want to assure everyone on the Forum that in Fact I am a United States Navy Veteran, I did nothing more than serve for 8yrs in the bowels of ships working on everything from 650lb Boilers to Diesel Engines, I have known my port from my starboard since 1978 and did not learn in this or any other game. I have been half way around the world, and gotten drunk in ports that I care to remember.

I am not a Hero, I did not serve in "combat duty", but I have seen men come home in body bags. I felt the sea spray hit me the face, I seen the Sun rise and set on several Seas, I have rebuilt 6-71 Diesel Engines, and crawled round inside of the Oil Sump of Diesel Engines with Pistons 2.5 feet diameter. I have taken salt water from the sea and changed into fresh, I am USN Veteran.

Did I have a perfect career, heck no I messed up big time and I will freely admit it! There was no gold on my sleeve, BUT I am USN Veteran and NO ONE can take that away from me. I have TWO DD214s and TWO Honorable Discharges to back it up! BUT now that I think of it, I must have some brains, since I could run/rebuild Diesel Engine, I could operate/repair Evaporators, and was also the Engineering Department Duty Supply Petty Officer work with the Snap II system. Also learned to fight Fires on board ships, from Navy Fire Fighting School and from real life experience, so I have seen REAL shipboard fires.