Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Frumbis

Simple CV Balance - More Selective Matchmaking?

8 comments in this topic

Members
2 posts
685 battles

I'm pretty new at this game, but I've been playing my way through the CV lines (mostly 'cause I suck at aiming artillery) and I've been loving them. I played IJN only up to the Zuiho, then switched to USN and am working on getting my ranger some time this week. 

It took about 5 games in a CV to discover that CV balance is a HUGE issue in this game. In the Bogue, I could easily take out all the enemies planes and then proceed to rack up 90k+ damage with ease against the poor-AA battleships in the bogue's tier. This may be a little IMBA, considering how new I am to this game.

Just one tier later in the Independence, everything is completely different. there are Clevelands EVERYWHERE. My tier 6 planes cannot compete with the absolutely melting AA fire that tier 8 cruisers and even battleships put out. If I dare make a torp bomb run at even a battleship (even one going solo at the edge of the map), Ill be lucky if 4 out of 6 bombers survive to drop, and luckier still if 3 bombers make it back to my carrier. I can't replace those planes with the Indy's tiny hangar. Now I'm lucky if I can get 20k damage in a game.

I note that I'm not the only one with this problem. I don't even have to use my fighters for air defense anymore in most games. I can never even get to his planes before most of them are shot down by my allies' CA's and BB's. Sure, I can use my planes to scout, and I do, but that only goes so far. I'm pretty sure I would have much more overall impact on the game if I just picked a different class of ship.

To get to the point--I feel like this situation could be avoided or improved with only a simple change--don't let a tier 6 CV get matched with tier 8 ships of other classes.