You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Gentle_Persuader

Izumo (Tough) Love

12 comments in this topic

[DTHRN]
Members
4 posts
2,626 battles

Last month I graduated to the Izumo. I'd read all the stuff about it and new it had a bad reputation. The first few times that I played her, I died quickly. I felt lost. Morso than the regular teething that's required when getting a new ship and learning it. I played the Yamato on the PTS last go around and didn't do great in that either even though it was designed "conventionally" compared to the "Business up front. Party in the back." layout of Izzy. Then I started watching videos on the Izumo and took notes. I learned that I'd need to basically re-learn how to fight a IJN BB in order to succeed with the Izzy.

• You should never show your sides in the Izumo. There are no broadsides. It's all about bow-on assaults.
  • Embrace the idea that you're going to do 90% of your fighting using 2/3 of your guns. That back turret is situational.
  • It's all about angling. Morso than with any IJN BB up to this point.
  • Don't show your backside if you can help it. There's a big barn door leading right to your citadel back there.
  • The side armor of the Izumo is made of wet tissue paper and will be destroyed by T8 BBs on a regular basis if you go broadside. Hide your sides.
  • Don't brawl or get in a knife fight in the Izumo. She has the biggest BB hull in the game and turns like a refrigerator full of cement... and don't forget the paper side armor.
  • Izumo's greatest strength are her main guns. Her AA is meh. Her Secondaries are meh. Her armor is... yikes.
  • Bow tanking is the Izumo's strength. facing the enemy at medium to partial long range and slinging out pain. Only Yamato and Musashi can really punish you with your bow facing the enemy (but they have their "cheeks" to worry about).
  • Don't go solo. You need support for AA and to keep your sides protected.